首頁外文書人文心理勵志 〉When Breath Becomes Air
商品訊息
作者書籍
When Breath Becomes Air
201602月 

When Breath Becomes Air


作者  /  Paul Kalanithi

譯者  /  Abraham Verghese/ FW

出版社 / Penguin Random House LLC

出版日期 / 2016/01/12

商品語言 / 英文

裝訂 / 精裝

定價 / NT$399

售價 / NT$ 399 ※ 特價商品,不再折扣

※ 此商品需向門市調貨,備齊後出貨



introduction all_character


內容簡介


◎ 2016年一月亞馬遜網路書店編輯最佳選書.讀者五顆星推薦

在死亡的面前,是什麼讓人生值得一活?當你的未來不再是通往人生目標的階梯,轉變成平坦而永久的現在時,你會怎麼做?當你的生命逐漸消逝,迎接並養育新生命,代表什麼意義?當你吐的最後一口氣,也變成空氣,你究竟留下了什麼?

「這一本動人且真誠的反思之作,在死亡的陰影壟罩下,思考是什麼讓生命值得一活的人生選擇,會讓讀者沉思他們的價值觀與必然的死亡。」——Booklist書評

「我逐漸了解,面對我終將死亡的事實,就某種意義上來說,什麼也沒有改變,也改變了一切。作家薩繆爾.貝克特 (Samuel Beckett) 所寫的七個字,開始不斷縈繞於我的腦中:『我沒有辦法走下去。我會繼續走下去。』(“I can’t go on, I’ll go on.”)」——Paul Kalanithi

Paul Kalanithi 36歲時,只差一年即將完成長達十年左右的腦神經外科醫生訓練,卻被診斷出肺癌第四期。前一天他還是治療即將死亡的病患的醫生,隔一天卻成了努力想存活的病患。他和妻子一起想像的未來,就此消失無蹤,人生也似乎斷了線。

在這本自傳裡,Kalanithi記錄了他這些年來身份與想法的轉變:從一位天真的醫學院學生,總是思考著這樣的問題:「既然所有的生物體終將死亡,該怎麼活,才算是一個有意義的人生?」(他當時總認為問題的答案就在於神經外科)、成為腦神經外科醫生,在形塑人類身份最重要的部位工作、變成病患,到一名即將面對死亡的新手父親。

Paul Kalanithi在2015年三月撰寫回憶錄之際過世,然而,他的文字留了下來,持續引導著我們。《When Breath Becomes Air》令人難以忘懷、積極且深刻動人,思考人生、死亡與時間的意義,是對於面對死亡的挑戰,以及醫病關係的反思之作。

For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, a profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir by a young neurosurgeon faced with a terminal cancer diagnosis who attempts to answer the question What makes a life worth living?

At the age of thirty-six, on the verge of completing a decade’s worth of training as a neurosurgeon, Paul Kalanithi was diagnosed with stage IV lung cancer. One day he was a doctor treating the dying, and the next he was a patient struggling to live. And just like that, the future he and his wife had imagined evaporated. When Breath Becomes Air chronicles Kalanithi’s transformation from a naïve medical student “possessed,” as he wrote, “by the question of what, given that all organisms die, makes a virtuous and meaningful life” into a neurosurgeon at Stanford working in the brain, the most critical place for human identity, and finally into a patient and new father confronting his own mortality.

What makes life worth living in the face of death? What do you do when the future, no longer a ladder toward your goals in life, flattens out into a perpetual present? What does it mean to have a child, to nurture a new life as another fades away? These are some of the questions Kalanithi wrestles with in this profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir.

Paul Kalanithi died in March 2015, while working on this book, yet his words live on as a guide and a gift to us all. “I began to realize that coming face to face with my own mortality, in a sense, had changed nothing and everything,” he wrote. “Seven words from Samuel Beckett began to repeat in my head: ‘I can’t go on. I’ll go on.’” When Breath Becomes Air is an unforgettable, life-affirming reflection on the challenge of facing death and on the relationship between doctor and patient, from a brilliant writer who became both.







詳細資料

誠品26碼 /2681267601001
ISBN 13 /9780812988406
ISBN 10 /081298840X
EAN /9780812988406

頁數256
裝訂精裝
級別
語言英文
成份




Share/Save/Bookmark

查看全台書店有無此商品