首頁外文書社科經濟 〉Glass House: The 1% Economy and the Shattering of the All-American Town
商品訊息
作者書籍
Glass House: The 1% Economy and the Shattering of the All-American Town

Glass House: The 1% Economy and the Shattering of the All-American Town


作者  /  Brian Alexander

出版社 / ST. MARTIN'S PRESS

出版日期 / 2017/02/14

商品語言 / 英文

裝訂 / 精裝

定價 / NT$945

售價 / 9折, NT$ 851

※ 無庫存


Glass House: The 1% Economy and the Shattering of the All-American Town 其它優惠/消息


introduction all_character


內容簡介

For readers of Hillbilly Elegy and Strangers in Their Own Land

**A New York Post Must-Read Book, a Newsweek Best New Book, one of The Week's 20 Books to Read in 2017, one of Bustle's 16 Best Nonfiction Books Coming in February 2017**

"Remarkably nuanced...should be required reading." - Beth Macy, author of Factory Man

"Glass House’s subtitle...hints at the book’s difference from its best-selling predecessor. Alexander’s book is less personal, less tortured, a work of journalism far more willing to indict forces larger than the stubborn, delusional pride of the white working class. This book hunts bigger game." -Laura Miller, Slate

In 1947, Forbes magazine declared Lancaster, Ohio the epitome of the all-American town. Today it is damaged, discouraged, and fighting for its future. In Glass House, journalist Brian Alexander uses the story of one town to show how seeds sown 35 years ago have sprouted to give us Trumpism, inequality, and an eroding national cohesion.

The Anchor Hocking Glass Company, once the world’s largest maker of glass tableware, was the base on which Lancaster’s society was built. As Glass House unfolds, bankruptcy looms. With access to the company and its leaders, and Lancaster’s citizens, Alexander shows how financial engineering took hold in the 1980s, accelerated in the 21st Century, and wrecked the company. We follow CEO Sam Solomon, an African-American leading the nearly all-white town’s biggest private employer, as he tries to rescue the company from the New York private equity firm that hired him. Meanwhile, Alexander goes behind the scenes, entwined with the lives of residents as they wrestle with heroin, politics, high-interest lenders, low wage jobs, technology, and the new demands of American life: people like Brian Gossett, the fourth generation to work at Anchor Hocking; Joe Piccolo, first-time director of the annual music festival who discovers the town relies on him, and it, for salvation; Jason Roach, who police believed may have been Lancaster’s biggest drug dealer; and Eric Brown, a local football hero-turned-cop who comes to realize that he can never arrest Lancaster’s real problems.







詳細資料

誠品26碼 /2681438347004
ISBN 13 /9781250085801
ISBN 10 /1250085802
EAN /9781250085801

頁數336
尺寸23.6X16.3CM
裝訂精裝
級別
語言英文
成份




Share/Save/Bookmark

查看全台書店有無此商品