They Don't Represent Us: And Here's How They Could--A Blueprint for Reclaiming Our Democracy | 誠品線上

They Don't Represent Us: And Here's How They Could--A Blueprint for Reclaiming Our Democracy

作者 Lawrence Lessig
出版社 Ingram International Inc
商品描述 They Don't Represent Us: And Here's How They Could--A Blueprint for Reclaiming Our Democracy:,WITHANEWAFTERWORDABOUTTHE2020ELECTION"Thisurgentbookoffersnotonl

內容簡介

內容簡介 WITH A NEW AFTERWORD ABOUT THE 2020 ELECTION"This urgent book offers not only a clear-eyed explanation of the forces that broke our politics, but a thoughtful and, yes, patriotic vision of how we create a government that's truly by and for the people."--DAVID DALEY, bestselling author of Ratf**ked and UnriggedIn the vein of On Tyranny and How Democracies Die, the bestselling author of Republic, Lost argues with insight and urgency that our democracy no longer represents us and shows that reform is both necessary and possible. America's democracy is in crisis. Along many dimensions, a single flaw--unrepresentativeness--has detached our government from the people. And as a people, our fractured partisanship and ignorance on critical issues drive our leaders to stake out ever more extreme positions. In They Don't Represent Us, Harvard law professor Lawrence Lessig charts the way in which the fundamental institutions of our democracy, including our media, respond to narrow interests rather than to the needs and wishes of the nation's citizenry. But the blame does not only lie with "them"--Washington's politicians and power brokers, Lessig argues. The problem is also "us." "We the people" are increasingly uninformed about the issues, while ubiquitous political polling exacerbates the problem, reflecting and normalizing our ignorance and feeding it back into the system as representative of our will.What we need, Lessig contends, is a series of reforms, from governmental institutions to the public itself, including: A move immediately to public campaign funding, leading to more representative candidatesA reformed Electoral College, that gives the President a reason to represent America as a wholeA federal standard to end partisan gerrymandering in the states A radically reformed SenateA federal penalty on states that don't secure to their people an equal freedom to voteInstitutions that empower the people to speak in an informed and deliberative wayA soul-searching and incisive examination of our failing political culture, this nonpartisan call to arms speaks to every citizen, offering a far-reaching platform for reform that could save our democracy and make it work for all of us.

商品規格

書名 / They Don't Represent Us: And Here's How They Could--A Blueprint for Reclaiming Our Democracy
作者 / Lawrence Lessig
簡介 / They Don't Represent Us: And Here's How They Could--A Blueprint for Reclaiming Our Democracy:,WITHANEWAFTERWORDABOUTTHE2020ELECTION"Thisurgentbookoffersnotonl
出版社 / Ingram International Inc
ISBN13 / 9780062945723
ISBN10 /
EAN / 9780062945723
誠品26碼 /
尺寸 / 20.3X13.5X2.5CM
重量(g) / 294.8
語言 / 3:英文
級別 / N:無
頁數 / 400
裝訂 / P:平裝

活動