The Deadline Effect: How to Work Like It's the Last Minute--Before the Last Minute | 誠品線上

The Deadline Effect: How to Work Like It's the Last Minute--Before the Last Minute

作者 Christopher Cox
出版社 Ingram International Inc
商品描述 The Deadline Effect: How to Work Like It's the Last Minute--Before the Last Minute:,InthetraditionofCharlesDuhigg'sThePowerofHabit,ChristopherCox'sTheDeadline

內容簡介

內容簡介 In the tradition of Charles Duhigg's The Power of Habit, Christopher Cox's The Deadline Effect is a wise and counterintuitive book that explores the power of deadlines as uniquely effective tools of motivation and empowerment. Perfectionists and procrastinators alike agree--it's natural to dread a deadline. Whether your goal is to complete a masterpiece or just check off an overwhelming to-do list, the ticking clock signals despair. Christopher Cox knows the panic of the looming deadline all too well--as a magazine editor, he has spent years overseeing writers and journalists who couldn't meet a deadline to save their lives. After putting in a few too many late nights in the newsroom, he became determined to learn the secret of managing deadlines. He set off to observe nine different organizations as they approached a high-pressure deadline. Along the way, Cox made an ever greater discovery: these experts didn't just meet their big deadlines--they became more focused, productive, and creative in the process. In The Deadline Effect, Cox shares the strategies these teams used to guarantee success while staying on schedule: a restaurant opening for the first time, a ski resort covering an entire mountain in snow, a farm growing enough lilies in time for Easter, and more. Cox explains how readers can understand the psychological underpinnings of expectations and time, the dynamics of teams and customers, and techniques for using deadlines to make better, more assured decisions.

作者介紹

作者介紹 Christopher Cox has written about politics, business, books, and science for The New York Times Magazine, GQ, Harper's, Wired, and Slate. In 2020, he was named a Knight Science Journalism Fellow at MIT and a visiting scholar at NYU's Arthur L. Carter Journalism Institute. He was formerly the chief editor of Harper's Magazine and executive editor of GQ, where he worked on stories that won the Pulitzer Prize, the PEN Literary Award for Journalism, and multiple National Magazine Awards. Cox was raised in Atlanta, Georgia, and went to college at Harvard University and graduate school at the University of Cambridge. He lives in Brooklyn with his wife, Georgia, and their two daughters, Carson and Alice.

商品規格

書名 / The Deadline Effect: How to Work Like It's the Last Minute--Before the Last Minute
作者 / Christopher Cox
簡介 / The Deadline Effect: How to Work Like It's the Last Minute--Before the Last Minute:,InthetraditionofCharlesDuhigg'sThePowerofHabit,ChristopherCox'sTheDeadline
出版社 / Ingram International Inc
ISBN13 / 9781982132279
ISBN10 /
EAN / 9781982132279
誠品26碼 /
尺寸 / 21.6X13.7X2.3CM
重量(g) / 340.2
尺寸 / 21.6X13.7X2.3CM
頁數 / 240
裝訂 / H:精裝
級別 / N:無
語言 / 3:英文

活動