首頁外文書生活圖文漫畫 〉The Book of Extraordinary Deaths: True Accounts of Ill-Fated Lives
商品訊息
作者書籍
The Book of Extraordinary Deaths: True Accounts of Ill-Fated Lives

The Book of Extraordinary Deaths: True Accounts of Ill-Fated Lives


作者  /  Cecilia Ruiz

出版社 / Blue Rider Press

出版日期 / 2018/10/23

商品語言 / 英文

裝訂 / 精裝

定價 / NT$595

售價 / 79折, NT$ 470

※ 有庫存可銷售


The Book of Extraordinary Deaths: True Accounts of Ill-Fated Lives 其它優惠/消息


introduction all_character


內容簡介

For fans of The Book of Unusual Knowledge, The Book of General Ignorance, and other trivia books: A uniquely clever and lightheartedly sinister giftbook, illustrating the infamous deaths of an eclectic selection of historical figures.

A welcome dose of dark humor for these dark times, The Book of Extraordinary Deaths introduces readers to the bizarre demises of thinkers, writers, monarchs, artists, and notable nobodies throughout history. Beginning in the fifth century BC with the morbidly unusual death of Aeschylus and journeying chronologically to identical twins--who died on the same day--in the present day, readers will learn of people they may or may not have ever heard of, but will forever remember for their memorable final moments. With Ruiz's sharply witty descriptions and compellingly beautiful illustrations, her characters come to life on the page even as they reach their demises. If you are unfamiliar with the Dancing Plague of Strasbourg, the strange duel that claimed balloonist Monsieur de Pique's life, or the fatal wardrobe malfunction of famed dancer Isadora Duncan, then you are in for a treat.

Some extraordinary deaths include:
● Milo of Croton (458 BC), a Greek wrestler whose last fight was against nature.
● Sir Arthur Aston (1649), a royalist commander who, during the Siege of Drogheda, was beaten to death with his own wooden leg.
● Jean-Baptiste Lully (1687), a music composer who died of a gangrenous abscess after piercing his foot with a staff while vigorously conducting.
● Alan Stacey (1960), a Formula One driver, who died in a car crash during the Belgian Grand Prix when a bird flew into his face.<







詳細資料

誠品26碼 /2681646423002
ISBN 13 /9780399184048
ISBN 10 /039918404X
EAN /9780399184048

頁數80
裝訂精裝
級別
語言英文
成份0.00


圖文漫畫產品推薦

CLAMP原画集: Memories

CLAMP

NT$1,250

NT$1,250

ILLUSTRATION 2019

平泉康児/ 編

NT$1,260

85折, NT$1,071




Share/Save/Bookmark

查看全台書店有無此商品

 

熱銷商品