首頁外文書生活圖文漫畫 〉The Book of Extraordinary Deaths: True Accounts of Ill-Fated Lives
商品訊息
作者書籍
The Book of Extraordinary Deaths: True Accounts of Ill-Fated Lives

The Book of Extraordinary Deaths: True Accounts of Ill-Fated Lives


作者  /  Cecilia Ruiz

出版社 / Blue Rider Press

出版日期 / 2018/10/23

商品語言 / 英文

裝訂 / 精裝

定價 / NT$595

售價 / 79折, NT$ 470

※ 有庫存可銷售


The Book of Extraordinary Deaths: True Accounts of Ill-Fated Lives 其它優惠/消息


introduction all_character


內容簡介

最獨特及怪異的禮物書,由知名插畫家Cecilia Ruiz以插圖展示歷史人物各種超凡的死亡

本書將與讀者分享歷史上最怪異及特殊的名人死亡方式,包括思想家、作家、君王、藝術家等。由插畫家Ruiz推出這本俏皮又帶有黑色幽默的禮物書,以插畫記錄這些不幸的靈魂如何死亡,一開始以7世紀前的希臘政治家德拉古作開端,再以年鑑的方式記錄現代的各種名人離奇死亡方式。這是一本獨特且充滿華麗色彩的作品,闡述生活的諷刺與神秘,搭配Ruiz豐富及迷人的插畫風格,為畫筆下的人物更添生氣,也彷彿洗去遭受死亡纏繞的命運詛咒。

內容所分享的不尋常死亡包括:
●希臘摔角手克羅托那的米羅(公元前6世紀)在最後一次和獅子搏鬥而死亡
●亞瑟阿斯頓爵士(1649年)在德羅赫達圍困戰役時被自己的木頭義肢毆打致死
●巴洛克作曲家尚-巴蒂斯特·盧利(1687年)慶祝國王手術康復演出時,不小心將指揮棒戳到腳趾,因為潰瘍而引發敗血症死亡
●一級方程式賽車手阿倫‧斯泰西(1960年)在比利時賽道奔馳時,因為撞上迎面飛來的鳥兒身亡。
 
For fans of The Book of Unusual Knowledge, The Book of General Ignorance, and other trivia books: A uniquely clever and lightheartedly sinister giftbook, illustrating the infamous deaths of an eclectic selection of historical figures.

A welcome dose of dark humor for these dark times, The Book of Extraordinary Deaths introduces readers to the bizarre demises of thinkers, writers, monarchs, artists, and notable nobodies throughout history. Beginning in the fifth century BC with the morbidly unusual death of Aeschylus and journeying chronologically to identical twins--who died on the same day--in the present day, readers will learn of people they may or may not have ever heard of, but will forever remember for their memorable final moments. With Ruiz's sharply witty descriptions and compellingly beautiful illustrations, her characters come to life on the page even as they reach their demises. If you are unfamiliar with the Dancing Plague of Strasbourg, the strange duel that claimed balloonist Monsieur de Pique's life, or the fatal wardrobe malfunction of famed dancer Isadora Duncan, then you are in for a treat.

Some extraordinary deaths include:
● Milo of Croton (458 BC), a Greek wrestler whose last fight was against nature.
● Sir Arthur Aston (1649), a royalist commander who, during the Siege of Drogheda, was beaten to death with his own wooden leg.
● Jean-Baptiste Lully (1687), a music composer who died of a gangrenous abscess after piercing his foot with a staff while vigorously conducting.
● Alan Stacey (1960), a Formula One driver, who died in a car crash during the Belgian Grand Prix when a bird flew into his face.<







詳細資料

誠品26碼 /2681646423002
ISBN 13 /9780399184048
ISBN 10 /039918404X
EAN /9780399184048

頁數80
裝訂精裝
級別
語言英文




Share/Save/Bookmark

查看全台書店有無此商品

 

熱銷商品