首頁外文書文學西洋文學 〉A Robot in the Garden
商品訊息
作者書籍
A Robot in the Garden

A Robot in the Garden


作者  /  Deborah Install

出版社 / BLACK SWAN

出版日期 / 2016/02/25

商品語言 / 英文

裝訂 / 平裝

定價 / NT$440

售價 / 9折, NT$ 396

※ 此商品需向門市調貨,備齊後出貨


A Robot in the Garden 其它優惠/消息


introduction all_character


內容簡介

◎英國亞馬遜網路書店讀者四點五顆星推薦!

「融合奇幻與公路小說的暖心之作。」──Booklist書評
「一本極為奇特且令人感到愉快的書。Deborah Install創造了令人難忘的機器人。」──作家Alexander McCall Smith

有如《非關男孩》與《瓦力》

故事發生在未來的平行世界中。Ben Chambers醒來時,發現一個不熟悉的物體:一隻走失的生鏽機器人,坐在他家庭院的柳樹下。他不想聽從他太太建議的把機器人丟棄,所以把它帶了回家。

三十四歲的Ben從過世的父母繼承了房子與遺產,成天失業宅在家,也不想要小孩,這下子,他找到了另一個整天待在書房裡,並忽略身邊的人的理由。然而,當他決定橫跨大西洋,帶機器人到美國加州修復時,他的太太終於受不了而離開,他才發現,他疏離了身邊的所有人。他只剩下一個朋友,也因此與機器人展開一段不可能的冒險與友誼。

這是關於一個男人如何敞開心胸、面對不想回憶的過去,緊抓不能失去的未來的故事。有趣、感動、迷人、溫馨,《A Robot in the Garden》探討多種身分的意義:身為男人、身為家長,與身為有感知能力的生物。作者首部小說令人驚艷,特別獻給曾經覺得難以和世界產生連結的人。


'A MOST UNUSUAL AND DELIGHTFUL BOOK. DEBORAH INSTALL HAS CREATED A ROBOT TO REMEMBER' - Alexander McCall Smith

Funny, touching, charming, wise and a bit magical, this is a novel that explores what it is to be a man, a sentient being and even a parent. A gem of a first novel, especially for anyone who has ever found it difficult to connect with the world. 

For fans of Nick Hornby's ABOUT A BOY, and WALL-E.

Ben Chambers wakes up to find an unfamiliar object - rusty and lost - sitting underneath the willow tree in his garden. Refusing to throw it on the skip as his wife Amy advises, he takes it home. 

Ben does not want children, or even a job, and now he has found yet another reason to stay in his study and ignore everyone around him.

It is only when Amy walks out that Ben realises he has now alienated all the human beings in his life. He has only one friend left. 

This is the story of an unlikely friendship, and how one man opens his heart to a past he did not want, and a future he cannot lose.







詳細資料

誠品26碼 /2681283802000
ISBN 13 /9781784160524
ISBN 10 /1784160520
EAN /9781784160524

頁數320
裝訂平裝
級別
語言英文
成份


西洋文學產品推薦

Solar Bones

Mike McCormack

NT$495

79折, NT$391

Faithful

ALICE HOFFMAN

NT$595

9折, NT$536

The Idiot

Fyodor Dostoevsky

NT$595

9折, NT$536

The Double and the Gambler

Fyodor Dostoevsky

NT$560

9折, NT$504

Notes from a Dead House

Fyodor Dostoevsky

NT$560

9折, NT$504




Share/Save/Bookmark

查看全台書店有無此商品