首頁外文書人文歷史 〉The Book Thieves: The Nazi Looting of Europe's Libraries and the Race to Return a Literary Inheritance
商品訊息
作者書籍
The Book Thieves: The Nazi Looting of Europe's Libraries and the Race to Return a Literary Inheritance

The Book Thieves: The Nazi Looting of Europe's Libraries and the Race to Return a Literary Inheritance


作者  /  Anders Rydell

出版社 / PENGUIN GROUP (USA) INC.

出版日期 / 2018/02/06

商品語言 / 英文

裝訂 / 平裝

定價 / NT$595

售價 / 79折, NT$ 470

※ 有庫存可銷售


The Book Thieves: The Nazi Looting of Europe's Libraries and the Race to Return a Literary Inheritance 其它優惠/消息


introduction all_character


內容簡介

真實歷史事件記錄,納粹侵略歐洲時,針對歐洲地區的私人圖書館有計畫的掠奪,焚毀大量書籍,並計畫一場關於文學與歷史的知識戰爭,一群英勇的人,包含猶太人、共產主義者、政治家、人權運動人士、天主教徒等試圖保護並阻止納粹的行動。戰爭結束後,許多倖存的書籍沒有被物歸原主,而是進入了公共圖書館,今天,他們試圖整理這些倖存的書籍,找出這些書的主人物歸原主,也因此讓因為戰爭而失散的親友,因為這些書而重逢。

"A most valuable book." —Christian Science Monitor

For readers of The Monuments Men and The Hare with Amber Eyes, the story of the Nazis' systematic pillaging of Europe's libraries, and the small team of heroic librarians now working to return the stolen books to their rightful owners.

While the Nazi party was being condemned by much of the world for burning books, they were already hard at work perpetrating an even greater literary crime. Through extensive new research that included records saved by the Monuments Men themselves—Anders Rydell tells the untold story of Nazi book theft, as he himself joins the effort to return the stolen books. When the Nazi soldiers ransacked Europe’s libraries and bookshops, large and small, the books they stole were not burned. Instead, the Nazis began to compile a library of their own that they could use to wage an intellectual war on literature and history. In this secret war, the libraries of Jews, Communists, Liberal politicians, LGBT activists, Catholics, Freemasons, and many other opposition groups were appropriated for Nazi research, and used as an intellectual weapon against their owners. But when the war was over, most of the books were never returned. Instead many found their way into the public library system, where they remain to this day.

Now, Rydell finds himself entrusted with one of these stolen volumes, setting out to return it to its rightful owner. It was passed to him by the small team of heroic librarians who have begun the monumental task of combing through Berlin’s public libraries to identify the looted books and reunite them with the families of their original owners. For those who lost relatives in the Holocaust, these books are often the only remaining possession of their relatives they have ever held. And as Rydell travels to return the volume he was given, he shows just how much a single book can mean to those who own it.







詳細資料

誠品26碼 /2681542647007
ISBN 13 /9780735221239
ISBN 10 /0735221235
EAN /9780735221239

頁數368
尺寸21X14CM
裝訂平裝
級別
語言英文
成份0.00


歷史產品推薦

The Fact of a Body: A Murder and a Memoir

Alexandria Marzano-Lesnevich

NT$420

9折, NT$378




Share/Save/Bookmark

查看全台書店有無此商品

 

熱銷商品